Well, first of all, here are the Ard Boyz Semi-final Missions.
I was starting to wonder when they would post them, but then we were all wondering that for the Qualifiers.
Look them over, then let me share my thoughts:
First of all, yay, they included infiltrate and outflank in every mission. See how they seem to clearly realize that not doing so was a mistake in the Qualifiers, but refused to fix that mistake prior to the qualifiers, or in any explicitly admit so?
Classic GW, “The way we did things, probably should not be done again. Not that we made a mistake, or were any clarifications needed. But what we did before? We have decided, in our wisdom, that it would be best if that was not repeated. But no, it definitely wasn’t a mistake.”
Anyway, speaking of clarifications, Mission #1 is in need of a few. Is it really so hard to write things that are unambiguous?
For those still too lazy to read the rules directly, it’s victory points, with dawn of war, with a twist, of course. The twist being, you must nominate a troop model as a “messenger” (I prefer to think of him as a “reverse-traitor”) that, if he makes into the enemy deployment zone by the end of turn 6, will get a full 500 victory points. They put a full range of restrictions on how he may be deployed. He has to be deployed “in your deployment zone” first of all, which presumably means he does indeed have to start on the board, rather than come on from board edge. Keep in mind, Dawn of War, you may start with 2 troop choices and a HQ on the board, everything else, if it wasn’t reserved, just rolls on first turn as if they were lurking just over the edge. The usual response is to not put anything on the board, purposely choose to go second, if you can, and see what your enemy does. Additionally, he may not infiltrate, scout, outflank, Deep Strike, etc. He may be deployed in a vehicle (though remember that only works if it’s a dedicated transport, and the vehicle counts as 1 of the 2 troops itself), and the vehicle cannot scout, infiltrate, or deep strike, either. OK. Sorta critically, there’s nothing to indicate that the Messenger must live on once he gets into the enemy deployment, only that he must get there by end of turn 6.
So they put a lot of rules in place to make sure you can cheat and get the Messenger into enemy deployment zone. OK, fine. What’s the problem? This is Dawn of War. The deployment zones actually touch. So actually, baring a few exceptions, I can’t picture how you’re going to prevent the Messenger from getting into you deployment at all. Both sides deploy on the line. Unless there’s some overwhelming application of firepower, both sides will be able to move 1″, and get their 500 pts. Which cancels out and is meaningless, other than it caused a weird first turn dance.
How is that good game play?
Anyway, a few big questions (as usual):
- Just like the qualifiers, no one really knows if Dawn of war automatically includes Night Fight. That was never cleared up, different places ruled differently.
- Does the Messenger have to live? Looks like it doesn’t.
- Is it an IC in any way, like the Traitor? Doesn’t seem to be.
- Can the Messenger come in off board edge (not reserves) like normal? Looks like it can’t, but it’s weird that they specifically mentioned and prohibited all those other methods of deployment, but not the simple one of just walking it on.
Out of time, will post on the other two scenarios shortly.