Good luck to everyone! (but especially the people I know)
I know a number of people going, a few friends and gaming associates, but am not going myself because of an urge to save money, saving my energies for the Feast Of Blades invitational in October, blah blah.
Truth is, I expect things to be a little rocky due to Flyers, new 6th ed rules that still don’t have good FAQ answers yet, and just general unfamiliarity with the ins and outs of the new rules, even among experienced players. When you spend so much time thinking about rules and tactics it can feel like 6th ed has been around forever….but the truth is it’s only been 2 months, we’re still settling in. This is the first big GT of the new edition! I’m hoping (halfheartedly) that things settle down by FoB.
The 11th company podcast folks are doing a livestream (I embedded the feed below for you) and the festivities are getting going tonight for 40k with the Nova Invitational.
Personally I’ll be checking in and keeping my beady eyes on how the “airforce” lists are doing (IG and Necrons) it would be nice to NOT see the weekend dominated by them but I’m not counting on it.
Heh, speak of the devil. First game I see on table 1, for the invitational is Aaron Aleong, with GK and IG allies (I see at least two vendettas) and Zac Lovett with Necorns, again, I’m seeing at least two flying horseshoes, probably more. Pat did a voice over giving each list but I missed it. Hrrmmmm, I hear Zac claiming that mindshackle scarabs causes d3 wounds (not hits) and Aaron contesting that (it doesn’t, no idea where that came from)
last minute coomentary: Towards the end of game one, Zack, the Necron player, was in combat with a dreadnought, which he cannot hurt, and wants to fall back under the “our weapons are useless” rule (pg. 26) he rolled his morale check and then says he wants to fall back…..Aaron comes back and says he can’t do that because he rolled his Leadership first and you’re supposed to declare that before you make the roll, and doesn’t want to let him fall back, judges are called and a big hoopla ensues, with the judges eventually ruling that he cannot because he rolled first.
First of all, looking at the rule, pg. 26, it’s not at all clear whether you’re supposed to do it before or after you roll, at least to me. More importantly, wtf does it matter? If the man can choose to automatically fall back, let him fall back. Some decisions need to be made before a roll, because the outcome of the roll can affect the decision. I can totally be very rigid on calling people on stuff like that. I don’t see how this is in any way true in this case, though.
I gather the game was close and could very well hinge on whether that unit was free and available to fire. I don’t know Zack and I don’t know Aaron, and I’ve only been listening to a little bit of the game and with a half a brain at that. But to a casual observer…….poor form, sir, poor form.